UPDATE – 12th August 2020:

As you know, we are currently holding a by-election for our school Board of Trustees.  The nomination deadline remains as no later than 12.00pm Friday 14th August 2020.   In light of moving to Alert Level 3, the school is unable to accept hand delivered nomination forms.  Instead we ask for any nomination forms to be scanned and emailed by the above deadline.

Email address to send completed nomination form is:

If you have any questions regarding the above, please contact

Leanne Blackmore
Returning Officer




The Board of Trustees will be holding a by-election on 28th August for three parent elected members to sit on the Board. This is a great opportunity to assist your school and local community with school governance and service.  Nomination forms will be sent to all eligible voters this week.   Nominations close at noon on Friday 14th August 2020.

If you have any questions, please contact Leanne Blackmore (returning officer) by email: or phone: 094837767.

Board members and responsibilities

The Board of Trustees are elected from within the school’s community, both parents and caregivers, and the school staff. The principal is always a member of the Board and is the Board’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO).

The Board has the responsibility of setting the school’s direction and goals for educational outcomes and other areas . It does this through developing a Charter and Strategic Plans in conjunction with the principal and staff. Once the Board has developed a draft form it consults with, and seeks feedback from, the school community.

In developing the Charter and Strategic Plans the Board takes into account:

  • important local educational needs
  • directions it wants the school to take
  • the National Educational Goals (NEGs) that have been set down by government
  • the National Administration Guidelines (NAGs) that have been set down by government

Board meetings

The Board meets during the year to conduct its business. These meetings are open to all members of the school community. 

Should the Board need to change any meeting dates the school community will be notified through the school newsletter.


Birkdale Primary School Board of Trustees 2020

  • Dr Anneka Anderson (Chairperson)
  • Fiona Kemplen
  • Jet Li
  • Adrienne Mawer (Principal)
  • Peter Cooley (Staff Representative)